a. History of the District

dukki district was formed as per Government notification on 26th January 1972. The district consists of Devikulam, Udumbanchola and Peermedu taluks of the former Kottayam district and Thodupuzha taluk excluding two villages Manjallore and Kalloorkadu of the former Ernakulam district. At the time of formation the district headquarters started functioning at Kottayam. It was later shifted to Painavu in Thodupuzha taluk in June 1976, where it is proposed to build a new planned forest township.

The name of the village 'Idukki' is originally derived from a Malayalam word 'Idukku' which means a narrow ravine. Periyar, which is one of the largest rivers of Kerala, flowing through Idukki gorge formed between the two high massive rocks called 'Kuravan' and 'Kurathi', is the site of the gigantic Idukki arch dam.

b. Location & Geographical Area

Idukki has an area of 4,479 km2(1,729 sq mi) and is the second largest District of Kerala. Rugged mountains and forests cover about 97 percent of the total area of the District. The district borders the Kerala districts of Pathanamthitta to the south,Kottayam to the southwest, Ernakulam to the northwest and Thrissur to the north and Coimbatore, Dindigul and Theni Districts in Tamil Nadu to the east. The district is accessible only by road. Rail and airlink is not available. National Highway NH 49, NH 185 and State highways 13 and 33 passes through the district.

c. Administrative Divisions

Taluks 5
Block Panchayats 8
Grama Panchayaths 52
Municipalities 2

d. Population

In 2011, Idukki had population of 1,108,974 of which male and female were 552,808 and 556,166 respectively.

e. Details of Blocks & Grama Panchayaths

Block Panchayats

For purpose of developmental activities it is divided into Eight Community development Blocks

Sl.No. Block
1 Devikulam
2 Adimali
3 Nedumkandam
4 Elamdesom
5 Thodupuzha
6 Idukki
7 Kattappana
8 Azhutha
Devikulam Block
Sl.No. Panchayat
1 Marayur
2 Kanthalloor
3 Vattavada
4 Munnar
5 Mankulam
6 Chinnakanal
7 Santhanpara
8 Eedamalakudy
9 Devikulam
Adimali Block
Sl.No. Panchayat
1 Pallivasal
2 Adimali
3 Vellathooval
4 Bysonvalley
5 Konnathady

Nedumkandam Block

Sl.No. Panchayat
1 Rajakumary
2 Rajakkad
3 Senapathy
4 Udumbanchola
5 Nedumkandam
6 Pampadumpara
7 Karunapuram
Elamdesom Block
Sl.No. Panchayat
1 Vannappuram
2 Kodikulam
3 Karimannoor
4 Udumbannoor
5 Alakode
6 Velliamattom
7 Kudayathoor

Thodupuzha Block

Sl.No. Panchayat
1 Kumaramangalam
2 Manakkad
3 Purappuzha
4 Karimkunnam
5 Edavetty
6 Muttom

Idukki Block

Sl.No. Panchayat
1 Idukki-Kanjikuzhy
2 Vazhathoppu
3 Arakkulam
4 Vathykudy
5 Mariapuram
6 Kamakshy

Kattappana Block

Sl.No. Panchayat
1 Erattayar
2 Vandanmedu
3 Kanchiyar
4 Upputhara
5 Ayyappankoil
6 Chakkupallam

Azhutha Block

Sl.No. Panchayat
1 Elappara
2 Kokkayar
3 Peruvanthanam
4 Peerumedu
5 Vandiperiyar
6 Kumily

f. Major Resources

Agriculture: Agriculture is the main occupation of the people in the District. This district has the agro-climatic conditions suitable for the cultivation of plantation crops like tea, coffee, rubber, coconut,cardamom,pepper etc.This district acquired 2nd place in the state in agriculture produces. This district is famous for production of spices like pepper and cardamom. This district is declared as 'Spices district' and a 'Technology Mission' has been setup for the development of spices.Recently, floriculture, mushroom cultivation,medicinal plants,vanila cultivation etc., are being taken up by some progressive farmers/women in the district.

Animal Husbandry: Animal husbandry activities are the major subsidiary occupations of the farming community. Extensive pasture, grazing lands and the favorable climate make the district suitable for rearing. Livestock wealth has great significance in the agricultural economy of the district.

g. Industrial Scenario :

Number of registered units is given below:

Sl No Head Units
1 Registered industrial units 2726
2 Total investment 40020.46 Lakhs
3 Total Employment 17928
4 Medium Scale 6
5 Small Scale 135
6 Micro Scale 2585

h. Educational Institutions and Manpower development institutions:

Idukki district has a moderately well-established stream of education from pre-primary level to University level.

Summery of schools in Idukki District

Govt. Schools Govt. Aided Schools Unaided Schools
85 40 55 136 63 73 10 4 12

In addition to the above schools under the supervision of General Education Department, there are 35 CBSE schools including one Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalaya and one Kendriya Vidyalaya and 5 ICSE schools


1 Govt. Engineering College, Painavu
2 College of Engineering, Munnar
3 University College of Engineering, Thodupuzha
4 Mar Baselios Christian College of Engineering & Technology, Peermade

Arts & Science Colleges

1 MES College, Nedumkandam
2 Govt. College, Kattappana
3 Marian College, Kuttikkanam
4 N S S College, Rajakumary
5 Govt. College, Munnar
6 Pavanatma College, Murikkasserry
7 St. Joseph's College, moolamattom
8 Newman College, Thodupuzha
9 College of Applied Sciences, Kuttikkanam
10 College of Applied Sciences, Thodupuzha
11 College of Applied Sciences, Kattappana
12 Al Azhar College of Arts & Science, Perumpallichira, Thodupuzha
13 DC School of Management and Technology, Pullikkanam, Wagmon
14 Holy Cross College, Puttady
15 Mar Baelious College, Adimali
16 Santhigiri College of Computer Sciences, Vazhithala, Thodupuzha


1 Al Azhar College of Arts & Science, Perumpallichira, Thodupuzha
2 SNDP Yogam Training College, Adimali
3 St. Thomas College of Teacher Education, Mylacomb, Thodupuzha


1 Govt. Polytechnic, Muttom, Thodupuzha
2 Govt. Polytechnic, Kumily
3 Govt. Polytechnic, Purapuzha, Thodupuzha
4 Govt. Polytechnic, Nedumkandam
5 Model Polytechnic (IHRD), Kuyilimala, Idukki
6 Govt. I. T. I, Kattappana


Sl.No Name of Institution Contact Address Phone Number
1 Indian Cardamom Research Institute, Myladumpara Deputy Director, Spices Board, ICRI, Myladumpara -6855 53 04868 237207
2 Cardamom Research Station, Pampadumpara Profesor and Head, Cardamom Research Station, Pampadumpara 04868 236263
3 Krishi Vigyan Kendram, Santhanpara The Chairperson, Bapooji Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Santhanpara -685619 04868 247715